Wednesday, 2 November 2016

Student Leadership Team for 2017

Induction of School Leaders for 2017
Learning about leadership is one of the many facets of a young person’s education. At Inaburra we are firmly of the opinion that leadership is exercised informally as well as formally, and that humble service is the essential attitude that underlies great leadership. Therefore, all students in our community are encouraged to exercise leadership in their contexts. We do, nonetheless, have formal leadership roles at various points on the way through school. In the Senior School assembly this week we commissioned our new School Captains, Prefects and Year 9 Leaders.

Year 9 Leaders
The Year 9 leaders will work with the staff in supporting the work of the school. One of their most important roles is assisting the new Year 7 cohort with their transition; this responsibility gets underway next week. Following a poll of their peers and the input of staff, the following students have been appointed as the Year 9 leaders for 2017: Amber Baillie, India Bowden, Zarie Dawson, Emily Easton, Jonah Eskander, Jamie Greig, Abigail Jones, Jake Liptak, James McNaughton, Henry Phillips, Georgia Schmit-Uili, Daniel Sherry, Georgia Smith, Daniel Todorcevski, Natalie Watt, Ben Weeks, Charlie Wilson and Matthew Wrightson.

Year 12 Leaders
We have introduced a new approach to the responsibilities of the Year 12 School Prefects. In addition to the general responsibilities and opportunities that come with the role, the Prefects have been assigned to an area of school activity which will provide the context in which they will develop and exercise their leadership. The following students, having been elected by their peers and staff, have been appointed to these areas of responsibility:

SRC Prefect
Richard Schmitz-Peiffer            
Sport Prefect
Alex Samios                                
Music Prefect
Gabriella Proctor                       
Speechcraft Prefect
Katherine Argiropoulos               
Chaplaincy Prefect
Rebekah Manning                        
Chaplaincy Prefect
Ryan Youssef                                  
Junior School Prefect
Alicia Miller                                   
Junior School Prefect
Jack Graham                                  
Year 8 Prefect
Nick Wallace                                 
Year 9 Prefect
Georgia Dynon                              

The School Captains for 2017 are Grace Easton and Hamish Wilson. Grace and Hamish are held in the highest regard by students and staff alike, both are very active in the life of the school and both consistently demonstrate the Christian character that I expect of student leaders at Inaburra School.

I commend all of our student leaders to you, being confident that they will fulfil their responsibilities with diligence and distinction. I also encourage the school community to pray for them and their peers as they embark on their final year of schooling.

Mr Bowden

No comments:

Post a comment